How I Homeschool My Child: 5 Steps

IMG_0091.JPG

1. I accept my child’s talents, skills, and abilities. I do not make comparisons to the gifts of other children.

2. I  set achievement standards my child and I agree on. If she expresses frustration about an assignment, we talk about it and together we decide how she can learn the subject.

3. I support my child’s post-graduation goals, not the goals of others,  not even those of myself.

4. I teach by example. I get my hands dirty, and work on an assignment with her, showing her how I would do it. We find the answer and solution together. I do not make a list of assignments, hand it to her, and disappear.

5. We step outside the classroom often, and learn out in the field through interaction, discussion, and adventure.

Leave a Reply

